Documents

Documents combine the Stored Display and Page Template environments into one powerful tool. This tool allows you to store multiple maps and multiple data frames. Stored Displays save multiple layers of a map while Page Templates define and store standard plotting page elements such as size, orientation, and graphic elements.

When you switch between map documents, the data frame and layer properties such as borders, background colors, annotation styles, symbology, map elements, page dimensions and page orientation, are easily changed in one step. The Documents tool is on the ArcFM toolbar and used in the Stop Editing mode.

A user may create a User Document which is available only to the user who created it. Administrators can create System Documents which are available for all geodatabase users to access and utilize, but not edit.

The Documents menu has three options: Save, Save As, and Manage. Save allows you to save changes in an existing open document. Save As allows you to name and save a newly-created document. Manage gives you the means to rename or delete existing documents.

Create Document

A document will save all layers currently in the ArcMap map document and properties of those layers in the geodatabase along with the current page template and its layout properties. You can identify the document with a unique name.

  1. Create documents with the ArcMap Editor tool in the disabled (Stop Editing) mode. In the Layout view, design the page template by placing map elements from the Insert menu. In the Data view add or remove feature layers as needed. The elements and layers in your map will be saved with the document.
  2. Click the Documents down arrow on the ArcFM toolbar and select Save As. If you select Save, the Save As dialog will appear because the document has not yet been named.

  3. In the Type field, select User to create a document available only to the user who created it. Select System to create a document available to anyone who uses the geodatabase.
  4. Type a name for your document.
  5. Click OK.

    When you save a document it also saves the current view (Data or Layout) and displays that view when the user opens the document.

    Your new document name will be listed on the Documents dropdown menu. User and system document names are separated on the menu. The three documents at the bottom of the list in the example above are user documents and available only to the user who created them. The top two (Electric OH Construction and Electric UG Construction) are system documents.

    TIP: When printing, the page size in your document (visible in the Layout view) must correspond with the printer's page size. If the page size of your document is larger, the page will be clipped. It will not be tiled. To change the page size, view the document in the Layout view. Right-click it and select Page Setup (or select Page Setup from the ArcMap File menu). Change the Map Size to correspond to the Printer Page Size and resave.

Manage Documents

Documents are managed using the Documents menu on the ArcFM toolbar. Users can rename or delete user documents. Only administrators may rename or delete system documents.

  1. Click the Documents down arrow on the ArcFM toolbar.
  2. Select Manage.
  3. Select the type of documents you want to manage from the Type field.
  4. Select a document name to display the Manage ArcFM Documents dialog.

    Rename or remove the selection. This action immediately updates the Documents drop-down list. Remove All deletes all documents shown in the window. If you are viewing system documents and elect to Remove All, all system documents are deleted. The user documents still remain. Click Close to dismiss this window.

Open Document

When you create a document, it is added to the Documents drop-down menu. User and system document names are separated on the menu. Just select the appropriate document name from the list to open.

When a document is saved, the current view (Data or Layout) is saved with it. When you open a document it is displayed in the view that was saved with it. So, if you open a document while in Layout view but it was saved in Data view, you will be switched to Data view. Change this by re-saving the document in the preferred view.

If you have opened a document and made changes to it, you may save the changes or create a new document. Save will save any changes you've made back to the original document. Save As allows you to name and save a new document.

Multiple Data Frames

Documents allow you to store information from two or more different databases in multiple data frames so you can quickly switch among views and data frames. Activated data frames are shown in bold on the Display tab or are highlighted in the Layout view of the map.

  • Add Data Frame: Click the Insert menu and select Data Frame. A new data frame will be added on the Display tab.

  • Name Data Frame: To change the name, double-click on the new Data Frame or right-click and select Properties. Select the General Tab and enter the new name. Click OK.

  • Activate Data Frame: Layers in the data frame can be added, deleted or modified only if the data frame is activated. In the Data view, right-click the data frame on the Display tab and select Activate. In the Layout view, click the data frame you want to activate.

  • Add Data: Data is added to the active data frame. So be sure to activate the data frame before adding data. You can use the Add Data button or select a stored display to add data.

  • Save: After creating your multiple data frames, be sure to save the Document.

QR code for this page

Was this helpful?