Data Source Wizard

The ArcFM Data Source Wizard allows you to change the data sources for the layers in stored displays, documents, page templates, map books, and designs (Designer only). This is extremely useful when moving stored displays from one server to another.

IMPORTANT:

When using the Data Source Wizard, ensure all the layers being moved are available in the destination server. Any layers missing in the destination server will have broken data sources.

The Data Source Wizard tool will change data source joins behind the scenes automatically, though it does require active connections to Source and Destination databases.

The following are supported for changing data source joins: 

  • Connected Stored Displays and Documents, including Manual Joins

  • FM2 Joins

  • Symbology

  • Labeling (from same-to-same DBMS platform)

  • Definition Queries (from same-to-same DBMS platform)

  • Symbol Rotation

  • Map Insets for Stored Documents

  • Multiple Joins in any order

The following are not supported:

  •  Map Insets for Stored Displays

  • Joins with Versioned Stored Displays

  • Soft Relates

  • Joins to files stored on network or local drives

  • Any Disconnected Stored Displays or Documents

The ArcFM Data Source Wizard tool is enabled on the ArcFM Solution toolbar only when you have selected a geodatabase in ArcCatalog.

Run the Data Source Wizard

IMPORTANT: Once you have begun updating data sources, the tool cannot be stopped, cancelled, or undone. Schneider Electric strongly recommends that you back up the following system tables prior to using the Data Source Wizard: MM_SYSTEM_STORED_DISPLAYS, MM_STORED_DISPLAYS, MM_SYSTEM_DOCUMENTS, MM_DOCUMENTS, MM_SYSTEM_PAGE_TEMPLATES, MM_PAGE_TEMPLATES, MM_SYSTEM_PACKAGES, MM_PACKAGES.
  1. Before updating data sources, back up the following tables in the geodatabase in which the stored displays and/or documents currently reside:

    • MM_SYSTEM_STORED_DISPLAYS

    • MM_STORED_DISPLAYS

    • MM_SYSTEM_DOCUMENTS

    • MM_DOCUMENTS

    • MM_SYSTEM_PAGE_TEMPLATES

    • MM_PAGE_TEMPLATES

    • MM_SYSTEM_PACKAGES

    • MM_PACKAGES

  2. In ArcCatalog, select the geodatabase to which the stored displays, page templates, map books, and/or documents are currently connected, and then click the ArcFM Data Source Wizard button.

    The initial screen in the wizard reminds users to back up certain ArcFM system tables.

  3. If you have not backed up these tables yet, do so now, and then click Next to continue.

    IMPORTANT: Backing up ArcFM system tables is critical.
  4. Select the stored displays and documents whose data sources you wish to update, and then click Next to continue.

    If you select the checkbox next a node that contains stored displays, documents, page templates or map books, all nodes below it are included. The path at the right shows the database in which the items are currently stored. The stored displays associated with sessions and designs may be included as well. These are discussed further in the section below.

    Sessions, Designs, and Mobile Designs

    Stored displays, page templates and map books associated with sessions and designs may also be included in the update. When these are displayed in the Data Source Wizard, they are shown by the IDs assigned by ArcFM rather than the user-defined values in the Name field. If you want to update the data sources for a particular session or design, be sure to look for it with this ID.

    In Session Manager, use the Session ID displayed at the top of the right-hand window when the session is selected. In Workflow Manager, use the value in the Work Request Number field.

    If you have included a design with multiple data sources (e.g., mobile designs), the connection to the workspace is updated (the connection to the mobile packet remains). The user is then prompted to select a data source when the design is opened. The user may elect to connect data to the workspace or the mobile packet. Users on the enterprise generally connect to the workspace and users in the field connect to the mobile packet.

  5. Choose whether to set all data sources or only a single data source.

    • Set All Data Sources: The data sources of all layers in the selected stored displays, documents, page templates and map books are updated, regardless of their current data source connection. This option should not be used for data that uses multiple servers or mobile designs (or any designs with multiple data sources). This option sets ALL connections to the same data source.

    • Set Single Data Source: This option updates all layers currently connected to a specific data source. Only layers connected to the specified original data source are updated.

    SDE Connections

    When setting database connections in steps 6 and 7, you may be prompted to enter a user name and password by Esri's Database Connection window. Enter the requested information and then click OK. The Select Version window may prompt you to choose a version. Select a version and then click OK. Cancelling either of these windows leaves the ArcSDE Database fields empty.

  6. If you selected Set All Data Sources, skip to step 7. If you selected the Set Single Data Source option, you need to specify an original data source. All layers connected to this data source are then updated to connect to the destination data source (specified in step 7). Click the "Choose data source" button to browse to the connection (either ArcSDE or personal geodatabase). Click Next to continue.

  7. Indicate the destination data source. This is the database to which the layers in the selected items will be connected. Click the "Choose data source" button to browse and select a connection (either ArcSDE or personal geodatabase). Click Next to continue.

    Authentication: If you're using an ArcSDE geodatabase, you can select the type of Authentication. Database authentication requires the user to enter their user name and password when logging into an ArcFM application. Operating system authentication (or single sign-on) uses the user's Windows login name and password.

    SQLServer: If you're connecting to a SQLServer database, enter the database in which the feature data is stored. DO NOT enter the database in which the ArcFM system tables are stored. Entering the wrong database results in broken data source connections.

  8. Check the Suppress Geodatabase Connection Prompts box if you want to suppress connection prompts.

    This option is used to suppress all connection prompt dialogs that pop up when you change the data source on a stored display or a stored document. Selecting this means that none of the joins, symbology, labeling, or definition queries are available, but the layers' data source is changed.

  9. The final screen displays a summary of what this tool will do when executed. It displays the number of stored displays, documents, page templates and map books, and the destination data source. If you selected Set Single Data Source, the original data source is also displayed. Click Next to begin updating the data sources.

    The update process may take an extended period of time, depending on the number of layers being connected. Once the process has started, it cannot be stopped or cancelled, even if errors occur. All errors are appended to the log file that can be accessed after the conversion is complete.

    While the tool is connecting the layers, there are a few instances in which you may be prompted by Esri's connection dialog. If you are attempting to connect layers to the same database to which they are already connected, you may be prompted to enter your user name/password information by Esri's connection dialog. If you are prompted to connect to the correct database, enter the required information and then click OK. If you click Cancel, layers will no longer be connected to that database. Another instance in which you may be prompted for login information is when the stored display contains joins and relates. Again, if you are prompted to enter login information and the database is the correct one, enter the required information and then click OK.

  10. When the wizard has finished setting the data sources, it writes information to a log file. This log file includes a list of the items that were converted as well as any errors that occurred. The final screen provides a warning for any failures that occurred and suggests that the user view the log file. To view the log file, select the checkbox. You can also save the log to a new location. Click the Browse button, browse to the location at which you wish to save the file, and then click OK.

    If you included designs in your update, you might want to update the design workspaces as well. To update design workspaces, use the Workflow Manager Data Source Wizard.

QR code for this page

Was this helpful?