Run ArcFM XML Import

When using the ArcFM XML Import tool, users connecting to the database in ArcCatalog must choose a version with which they have edit privileges. This is necessary because these tools start an edit session before they make any changes to the database. That way, the user can cancel at any time and the Import tool will roll back the changes to the database.

If you're importing a large XML after exporting a large XML file (e.g., 50mb), you may encounter memory problems. To avoid this, restart ArcCatalog after exporting any large XML file.

IMPORTANT:
  • As a general rule, you cannot import from more recent versions of a database. For example, importing from a 10.2.1 database into a 10.1 database does not work.

  • Importing from different versions of a database can cause problems. Consequently, you should perform a database upgrade on the source database before you export content from it.

  • Files imported into your geodatabase using this tool must be in XML format and comply with the GxXML.dtd file found in the Bin\Xml folder of the ArcFM Solution installation directory.

To an import an ArcFM XML file, complete the following steps:

  1. Select the geodatabase into which you want to import information.
  2. Click the ArcFM XML Import button on the ArcFM Solution toolbar or right-click the geodatabase and select ArcFM XML Import. This tool is enabled only at the geodatabase level. If you want to dismiss the XML Import dialog box, press the Esc key.
  3. Select one of the following options for entering information into the geodatabase:
    • Overwrite: This option replaces existing data with the imported information. The geodatabase feature class settings are replaced by the settings in the XML file.

      NOTE: With the Overwrite option, existing model names are overwritten with the new model names.
    • Keep Existing: This option imports settings only for feature classes in the geodatabase that don’t already have settings. A feature classes that have settings are not be overwritten, and the imported information is not saved to that feature class.

      NOTE: No model names are imported or changed with the Keep Existing option.
    • Prompt: Select this option to be prompted with each occurrence of duplicate data to decide whether you want to overwrite the information. Click Yes to overwrite existing information or No to keep existing information.

  4. Click the Advanced Options button.
  5. Select an option in the Advanced Options window. This determines what happens to existing subtypes in the database when an XML file that does NOT have those subtypes is imported.
    • Replace Missing Subtypes with Default Values: Modify the attributes in the subtypes (e.g., 1 and 2 in the example below) to match the attribute values in the <All> selection in the Subtype field.

    • Do Not Replace Missing Subtypes with Default Values: Do not modify these subtypes and their attribute values.

    • Prompt: Prompt the user.

    In the example below, the settings would impact Subtypes 1 and 2 (highlighted in red). The attributes for the remaining subtypes (10, 20, and 30) would be updated according to the option setting in step 3.

  6. Use the "Always Use This Setting" checkbox to persist the selection.
  7. Click OK.
  8. Apply Style Sheet: Use this option to further tailor XML files. A list of style sheets and their uses is available in the Appendix.
    NOTE: If you want to import into ArcFM 9.1 or later an XML file that was exported in a release prior to 9.1, you must apply the ConvertToArcFM9Objects.xsl style sheet. If you do not use this style sheet, errors will occur.
  9. Browse to and open the XML file to be imported.
  10. Click Import. A progress bar displays the status of the import. You can press the Esc key to cancel an import while it is in progress.
    NOTE: EXTCLSID values from a geometric network cannot be imported into a geodatabase without a geometric network.
Import Log

If some information in the XML file cannot be imported, ArcFM creates a log and gives the user the opportunity to view it. This information log is not stored. If you elect not to view it, the information will be lost. However, if you choose to view the information log, you can click the Save button to save the information to a text file.

QR code for this page

Was this helpful?