History and Archive Tables

When an incident is closed, it is automatically moved to the Archive tables and made available for viewing and editing in Archive Explorer (assuming Archive Services is configured properly and running). The default (False) is to retain this information in the History tables (this causes the Archive tables and History tables to have duplicate information).

IMPORTANT: If you choose the default behavior and leave the data in History, we advise clearing out or backing up this data in an alternate location on a yearly basis. Allowing the History tables to grow too large can have negative performance implications for Responder.

You may change this behavior by modifying the SubmitRulesConfig.xml. This file is installed here: Miner and Miner\Responder\Server. Look for the following tags toward the bottom of this XML file.

<b:RuleClass Key="" Type="Miner.Responder.Processors.SubmitRules.Post.ArchiveIncidentHistoryRule,
Miner.Responder.Processors">
  <b:Properties>
    <b:Property Key="DeleteHistory" Value="false"/>
  </b:Properties>
</b:RuleClass>
<b:RuleClass Key="" Type="Miner.Responder.Processors.SubmitRules.Post.ArchiveTagHistoryRule,
Miner.Responder.Processors">
  <b:Properties>
    <b:Property Key="DeleteHistory" Value="false"/>
  </b:Properties>
</b:RuleClass>

The Type value indicates what is impacted. For example, in the first part of the example above, the Type includes "ArchiveIncidentHistoryRule". This impacts the history of incidents. The second one has a value of "ArchiveTagHistoryRule". This impacts the history of tags.

The DeleteHistory property determines whether the incident information is deleted from the History tables after it has been moved to the Archive tables. Set the value to True to delete the incident information from the History tables after it has been successfully moved to the Archive tables. Set the value to False (this is the default) to retain duplicate information in the History and Archive tables.

QR code for this page

Was this helpful?