Configure Directory Replica - Server

Due to so many links to topics everywhere, and so many repeat, duplicate topics, I am placing this comment in topics I’ve already fixed that I know are linked to a bunch or that I know I have seen a bunch and that I want to ensure aren’t duplicates or see if I can reuse something {this is the case for Enable Dir Browsing and Configure Bits}. AMS 12/2018

Mobile Users: Follow the steps below to create a server directory replica for your Login database.

A Directory replica allows you to update any data supported by the file system (e.g., Mobile Login database, customer data, meter data, plat drawings, PDF forms, Excel spreadsheets, etc.). In this configuration, you identify a specific directory on the replication server. During replication, everything in this directory is pushed to the client machine(s). If you wish to use a directory replica, it must be configured in all three sections: client, server, and web.

IMPORTANT:

  • During configuration, DO NOT have the Target Directory opened. Doing so causes errors.

  • It is imperative that the files in the Target directory NEVER be modified manually. If they are changed in this directory, Geodatabase Replication performs a full-download, which is more time consuming.

  • NEVER store non-replicated documents or folders in your Directory replica folder. During a full-download, Geodatabase Replication deletes the entire replica directory and starts fresh. Anything that's not replicated is lost.

Before You Begin:

Copy the directories or databases to be replicated (one for each replica) to the following locations on the replication server:

  • Replication Server: The Login database is maintained using a directory replica. Create a directory on the replication server. This directory will serve as the source for the directory replica and must have the same name as the directory replica created in the steps below (step 2, Replica Name field). Schneider Electric recommends placing this as a sub-directory in the Base Path directory (e.g., C:\ReplicationServer\LoginDB\).

Next, follow the steps below to create a replica for each directory you wish to replicate.

  1. Each category contains the replica geodatabase(s) that require an update. Right-click the category in the Server section and select New > Directory Replica.

  2. Select the directory replica and set values for the settings to the right.

    General

    • Replica Name: Assign a name to the replica. This name must contain fewer than 50 characters and it must be the same for the corresponding replica in the Client and Web Service sections.

    • Description: You may enter any descriptive text for the replica. Currently this text is displayed only in the Administrator.

    • Enabled: This setting allows you to turn off a replica if necessary. If the value is set to True, the replica will run. Set it to False to prevent the replica from running.

    • Source Directory: Enter (or browse to) the directory to be replicated. This may be a local directory on the server or a network drive. You may use a mapped drive for this value, however, it must contain at least one folder. For example, C:\Replication\. A value of C: or C:\ will not work. This value may NOT be the Server Base Directory or another directory that contains the Server Base.

    • Cleanup Interval: Directories older than this value are deleted from the server base. This value must be greater than 6.

    Email Settings

    • Email SMTP Server: If a replication should fail, you may elect to be notified via email. Enter the SMTP server.

    • Email Addresses: Enter the email address(es) to be notified upon replication failure. You may enter more than one. Separate multiple addresses with a semicolon (;).

    Replica Update Settings

    • Update Interval: This value indicates how often (in minutes) updates are retrieved from the SDE geodatabase and placed on the replication server. A value of 0 indicates that only one update should occur and subsequent updates must be initiated manually by the user.

    • Number Of Retries: This value indicates the number of times to retry an update that has failed.

    • Retry Interval: This value indicates the frequency (in minutes) with which retries are performed should an update fail.

  3. When you've finished configuration, select File > Save Configuration File. You may also click the red X button in the top right corner. In this case you are prompted to save changes.

QR code for this page

Was this helpful?