General

  • Replica Name: Assign a name to the replica. This name must contain fewer than 50 characters and it must be the same for the corresponding replica in the Server and Web Service sections.

    • Enabled: This setting allows you to turn off a replica if necessary. If the value is set to True, the replica will run. Set it to False to prevent the replica from running.

    • File/Personal Geodatabase Name: Browse to the geodatabase (file or personal) that requires the update. You may be prompted to enter login information to access the geodatabase.

    • Maintain Local Backup: This option is available only for file geodatabase and directory replicas. When this value is set to True, the database is copied to another directory during replication. This means a slower replication time, but the database is available during replication. If this value is set to False, the database is kept in its current location during replication. This means the replication will go faster, but the database will be unavailable during replication. By default, this field is set to False.

    • Transport Method: This is the method used to copy the delta file from the server to the client. There are two options: Bits and UncCopy (these values are case sensitive).

      Bits: This is a Microsoft technology that is used to transmit the delta file to the client. If the transfer is interrupted, the Bits technology picks up where it left off and completes the transfer. If you wish to use bits, the Replication Server must use Windows Server 2003 or later.

      UncCopy: This option copies the delta file to the client. However, should the transmission be interrupted, the delta will NOT be copied to the client and the update will have to be performed again. UncCopy may be used with a server running on Windows Server 2003 or Windows XP or later.

QR code for this page

Was this helpful?