Geodatabase Replication Versions

ArcFM Geodatabase Replication creates and uses several versions during the replication process. The tables below list the versions used by ArcFM Geodatabase Replication.

TIP: In all instances below, <InitialExtractVersionName> is replaced by the name of your Initial Extract Version as it was created during configuration. For example, if your Initial Extract Version is called GDBExtract, then replace every instance of <InitialExtractVersionName> with GDBExtract (e.g., GDBExtract_Replica_Delete). The Initial Extract Version name appears in the Geodatabase Replication Administrator on a Server replica in the Initial Extract Version field.

Temporary Versions

These versions are created by the Geodatabase Replication server and deleted when the process is finished with them.

Version Name

Description

<InitialExtractVersionName>_Replica_Delete

<InitialExtractVersionName>_Replica is renamed to _Delete so that it can be replaced by a new <InitialExtractVersionName>_Replica. This version should then be deleted by Geodatabase Replication.

<InitialExtractVersionName>_Replica_BACK_Delete

<InitialExtractVersionName>_Replica_BACK is renamed to _Delete so that it can be replaced by a new <InitialExtractVersionName>_Replica_BACK. This version should then be deleted.

<InitialExtractVersionName>_NewReplica

This version should replace <InitialExtractVersionName>_Replica at the end of server execution. It is renamed to <InitialExtractVersionName>_Replica.

<InitialExtractVersionName>_NewReplica_BACK

This version should replace <InitialExtractVersionName>_Replica_BACK at the end of server execution. It is renamed to <InitialExtractVersionName>_Replica_BACK.

<InitialExtractVersionName>_reconcile

This version is the same as <InitialExtractVersionName>_Replica. During execution the differences between this version and DEFAULT are computed and exported. This version should be deleted at the end of execution.

Permanent Versions

These versions are created by the Geodatabase Replication server and remain throughout the process. Geodatabase Replication does not delete these versions.

Version Name

Description

<InitialExtractVersionName>_Replica

This version is updated each server run to match the state of your <Sync Version>. The state of _Replica should match the state of your file geodatabase or personal geodatabase.

<InitialExtractVersionName>_Replica_BACK

This is a back-up of the _Replica version above. It should always be in the same state as _Replica. If Geodatabase Replication cannot access <InitialExtractVersionName>_Replica, it will automatically copy <InitialExtractVersionName>_Replica_BACK to <InitialExtractVersionName>_Replica and create a new _BACK version. This ensures that no updates are lost due to failure during the _Replica or latest directory update.

User-Created Versions

These versions must be created by the user during the configuration process. Geodatabase Replication does not delete these versions unless it is configured to do so.

Version Name

Description

<InitialExtractVersionName>

This version is the one from which the first deltas are extracted. It is named by the Administrator during configuration. This name appears in the Geodatabase Replication Administrator on a Server replica in the Initial Extract Version field. The Keep Initial Version field determines whether this version is deleted (True=not deleted; False=deleted).

<Sync Version>

This version is the SDE geodatabase version with which the previous extract is compared and deltas are generated. This version is determined by an Administrator during configuration and is the parent version of the Initial Extract Version. The version name appears in the Geodatabase Replication Administrator on a Server replica in the Sync Version field (e.g., SDE.Default). This version is not deleted.

QR code for this page

Was this helpful?